Safe Workplace Program

Employers in Nunavut and the Northwest Territories who demonstrate a commitment to making workplace health and safety a core company value are recognized by the WSCC through the Safe Workplace program.

To be considered a Safe Workplace or an Advanced Safe Workplace, employers must meet the following criteria:

  1. Have an active Occupational Health and Safety (OHS) program in place.
    a. For the Advanced Safe Workplace designation: Have a safety program accredited through a third party, such as Certificate of Recognition (COR) or the International Organization of Standardization (ISO) 45001 The accreditation must be based on NT or NU legislation.
  2. Be in ‘Good Standing’-up-to-date on reporting payroll and WSCC assessment payments.
  3. Time loss claim volume is below your industry class average based on the last 5 years’ performance.
  4. No ’Outstanding’ WSCC inspection Directions for compliance with Safety Acts and OHS Regulations
  5. No convictions under the Safety Acts or OHS Regulations in the past 12 months.
  6. No workplace fatalities in past 12 months.

Note: A Safe Workplace certificate does not replace a WSCC clearance letter. If you are awarded or are awarding a contract, please obtain a WSCC clearance letter by clicking here.

To find out if you have qualified and to download your Safe Workplace or Advanced Safe Workplace certificate and digital badge, visit Safe Workplace Dashboard.

The Search Safe Workplace Employers feature can also be used to search for other qualified employers. 

If you would like to know more, contact us.

Call toll-free: 1-833-315-2057
In the Northwest Territories, please email
In Nunavut, please email